AEGIS and the Treaty

AEGIS is developed and operates within the framework of the Treaty in a manner consistent with the Treaty’s objectives. In its Article 5, the Treaty calls for the development of an efficient and sustainable system of ex situ conservation: AEGIS will be the response of the European region to that call. More generally, AEGIS provides a mechanism for regional cooperation in the implementation of the Treaty in the European region. Wherever possible, AEGIS uses the Treaty’s mechanisms, procedures and instruments, including the Standard Material Transfer Agreement (SMTA), and thereby contributes to its effective implementation.

The following ECPGR countries are Contracting Parties to the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (November 2018):

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom